Cheap Thrills

Everyone by now should own a Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Swivel Stick (the glue-stick sized lip balm).  There’s such a romance with a quality product that you pay little for.  That’s why I dabble in drug-store brand cosmetics.  There is a woman I work with, who is in her 40’s, who is beautiful inside and out.  She has the holy trifecta: she works out and it shows, she takes care of her skin and it shows, and she takes care of her hair which also shows.  Her makeup is always well done and not overdone.  Her lips?  A perfect shiny pink.  I always comment on it, and she always says something like, “It’s the same thing it always is. Just Revlon gloss.” And I’m the one who spends $25 on glosses.  So while on a rare trip to Wal-Mart, I took an impulsive spin down the cosmetics aisle and found the exact gloss she wears.  It was $6.50.  I bought it. I love it.

Here it is: Shine City. It gives a very subtle pink sparkle, perfect for summer, over any lipstick. A classic girly must-have. I’m going to give the other shades a chance as well.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Shine City

2 thoughts on “Cheap Thrills

  1. I found this gloss at Target but the color is much lighter than pictured here, I was wondering if the name of the color was incorrect? Or is this a picture of a different shade?

    • On Revlon.com, there is only one picture of the gloss, and just swatches for each color. The Shine City shade is the one mentioned, which is very light and almost clear, with a few sparkles. Sorry for the confusion! I’m intrigued by the other shades, since I like Shine City so much. If you do end up trying another one, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

