Look and Find Your Muse.

This is the first entry into my first beauty blog, where I will funnel all of my professional experience as a hair stylist and makeup artist and as a consumer of innumerable hair and cosmetic tools and products as well as what inspires me. This blog is for my lovely clients, my friends, my family, and for my new followers: including you.  Do you have a burning question that you’d like to ask me?  Please do!  Ask me anything about products, how to get a look, colors, styles… Throw it at me!

A self-makeover, in front of my painting.

If you don’t know me, this is me above.

I did my hair and makeup, as well as the painting you see me in front of.  Beauty is an art every bit as much as fine art.  Both are artifice, both can express an inner reality and project a facet of oneself.

I’ve told some of my clients that they should find (or probably already have) a muse. Someone (not necessarily famous) whose look, attitude, and/or lifestyle inspires them.  You can have more than one.  Mine include Dita Von Teese, Gwen Stefani, and Natalie Portman (esp. as Amadala).  Integrate what you admire about them into your look.

As I mentioned, Dita Von Teese is a burlesque dancer who always inspires me.  She has said in several interviews that it’s the self-created beauty that is glamorous… the transformation into something other. Here’s a quote from Interview magazine:

SP: It’s stronger for me as well. [both laugh] One of the things that was so appealing to me when Interview asked me to do this was that they suggested the conversation be around beauty and the return of glamour. And I was like, well Dita is all of those things!

DVT: Oh, I try to be. I love glamour and artificial beauty. I love the idea of artifice and dressing up and makeup and hair.

To read the entire interview: http://www.interviewmagazine.com/fashion/dita-von-teese/

An example of her own special glamour.

An interesting side note on Dita is that she is a natural blonde, but colors her hair black.  It’s a world of possibilities!  See you at my next post! (mascara!)

3 thoughts on “Look and Find Your Muse.

  1. OK, so is your muse supposed to be more on the edgy, this is what I’d “like to be” glamorous side, or more of your everyday life side.

    Because Heidi Klum is my glamorous, more put together muse – she believes she should always look great.

    But Jennifer Garner is my everyday muse – because no matter what she wears, jeans, flannels, sneakers, or red carpet, she looks great!

    Or is it a combination of two? Anyway, you’ve inspired me to figure it out, and maybe experiment with my look a bit – in your capable hands of course!

    Great blog, I’m looking forward to reading more!

    • Momdrobe – I love how you are thinking. Pick elements from each and channel it for whenever you need that specific inspiration!
      Have fun with it! I love both of your muses!

Leave a Reply

